## 22.—Legislatures and Premiers of Alberta 1935-58 and Ministry as at Sept. 1, 1958 Legislatures 1935-58<sup>1</sup>

Date of	Legislature	Number	Date of	Date of
Election		of Sessions	First Opening	Dissolution
aug. 22, 1935 far. 21, 1940 aug. 8, 1944 aug. 17, 1948 aug. 5, 1952 une 29, 1955	8th	9 4 5 5 3 2	Feb. 6, 1936 Feb. 20, 1941 Feb. 22, 1945 Feb. 17, 1949 Feb. 19, 1953 Aug. 17, 1955	Feb. 16, 1940 July 7, 1944 July 16, 1948 June 28, 1952 May 12, 1955

¹ The Ministries from 1935-58 were: 6th Ministry sworn in July 10, 1934, under the leadership of Hon. R. G. Reid; 7th Ministry sworn in Sept. 3, 1935, under the leadership of Hon. Wm. Aberhart; 8th Ministry sworn in May 31, 1943, under the leadership of Hon. Ernest C. Manning. ² Life of Legislature not expired at Sept. 1, 1958.

## Eighth Ministry

(Party standing at latest General Election June 29, 1955: 37 Social Credit, 15 Liberals, 3 Progressive Conservatives
2 Co-operative Commonwealth Federation, 1 Liberal Conservative, 1 Coalition,
1 Independent Social Credit and 1 Independent.)

Note. - See headnote to Table 15.

Office	Name	Date of First Appointment	Date of Present Appointment
Premier, President of the Council, Minister of Mines and Minerals, and Attorney General Minister of Education	Hon. Ernest C. Manning  Hon. Anders O. Aalborg  Hon. N. A. Willmore  Hon. James Hartley.	Sept. 9, 1952 Nov. 10, 1953 Aug. 2, 1955 Jan. 5, 1954 Aug. 2, 1955 Apr. 20, 1945 Jan. 3, 1953 Aug. 2, 1955 Dec. 27, 1950 Dec. 23, 1954	May 31, 1943 Sept. 16, 1952 Aug. 2, 1955 Sept. 9, 1952 Aug. 2, 1955 Sept. 18, 1957 Jan. 5, 1954 Aug. 2, 1955 Jan. 5, 1954 Aug. 2, 1955 ODec. 27, 1950 May 1, 1951 Aug. 2, 1955 Aug. 2, 1955

## Subsection 10.—British Columbia

The Government of British Columbia has a Lieutenant-Governor, an Executive Council and a Legislative Assembly. The Honourable Frank Mackenzie Ross, C.M.G., M.C., LL.D., Lieutenant-Governor of the Province at Sept. 1, 1958, was commissioned to office Oct. 3, 1955. Lieutenant-Governors since Confederation are cited in the 1951 Year Book, p. 98.

The Legislative Assembly, elected for a statutory term of five years, has 52 members.

Each Member of the Executive Council and the Legislative Assembly receives a sessional allowance of \$3,400 and \$1,000 for expenses. There is also paid to each Member a living allowance of \$15 for each day's attendance at the session and for each Saturday, Sunday or holiday that intervenes between two sittings of the House; the allowance of \$15 in any session is not paid in respect of more than 40 days. Each Member also receives an allowance of 25 cents per mile of the distance between his place of residence and the city of Victoria, reckoning such distance, going and coming, according to the nearest mail route. In addition, the Premier receives a salary of \$15,000 and each Member of the Executive Council \$12,500. The Leader of the Opposition has a special allowance of \$3,500 for expenses, the Speaker receives a special allowance of \$3,500 and the Deputy Speaker an allowance of \$1,000.